N, O, P, Q, R are for Noise, Objects, Packages, Quiet, and Recitals, respectively

16 Dec

I must apologize for my lack of blogging this week.  Getting this close to Christmas, the retail store where I work has been packed and I am working more than I have all year.  (Note:  This is not necessarily a bad thing.  It funds my ability to give to others which happens to bring me joy.)

Anyway, today I have attempted to combine all five letters of gratitude for this week into one post—with a common theme.   This is a little more difficult than it may initially seem.  It did take at least the duration of my morning shower to work all the letters in.  I hope you enjoy this compilation of randomness.

 

To start off, I will begin by sharing a news story I heard (and read about) this week.  After receiving complaints from those with sensitive ears, those who hate having to constantly use the remote when watching television, and those who apparently do not have DVR, the FCC has made a ruling about the volume of commercials shown during television shows.

The new rule apparently says that television distributors must monitor the volume of commercial noise to ensure that they are of similar volume as the show in which they appear.  Hmmm.  This could be interesting.  But don’t get your hopes up too soon; the rules do not go into effect until next December.

Overall, I guess this may mean commercials like this one will be broadcast at a lower decibel, but they will still be utterly annoying.

 

But speaking of noise, if you have been shopping lately, or even turned on a radio, you probably have been bombarded with a barrage of Christmas carols.  There are, of course, the more traditional songs and then there are the newer pop sensations.
It seems that many songs contain a list (or at least one) object that the singer is requesting for Christmas or has already received.  While some are more poetic in their Christmas desires (think “All I Want for Christmas is You”), others are more practical (“All I Want for Christmas is my Two Front Teeth.”)

Then there is the famous “Twelve Days of Christmas” in which someone receives gifts of interesting origin for 12 consecutive days.  I mean, they start of making a little sense, but then snowball into this weird party with milkmaids, lords, and drummers.  Plus, I’m thinking if you put all those fowl in one place, its bound to get a little dirty and stinky.  Definitely not your best holiday idea.

Another oft played song during the holiday season that confuses me a bit is “My Favorite Things.”  This song from the musical “Sound of Music” is not your traditional holiday song.  If I remember correctly, the musical does not even take place at Christmas.  I believe there was even some frolicking across the grassy green meadows in the mountains.

Anyway, if you can get over that little problem, you must remember that one of the favorite items are brown paper packages tied up with string.   This simple gift wrap idea apparently just wouldn’t cut it in the current day and age.  For days upon days, I have been wrapping packages in white boxes with red and green ribbon (and the occasional package tied with blue and silver ribbon for those celebrating Hanukkah).  I’m a little worn out on the complementary wrapping, but it is nothing compared to the bags, boxes, and elaborately designed paper that people use to pretty up their presents.

Unfortunately, as much as the packaging of the packages appeals to the ascetic side of us all, we all know that it ends up in a big black garbage bag in some dreary landfill soon after the packages are open.  Unless, of course, you are my grandmother.  Then you will carefully open that packages as to not tear the paper.  This way you can save the wrapping, the tissue, and the bows.  She is never one to waste anything…..even plastic bags and aluminum foil.

One of the most famous carols speaks of the utmost quiet.  Yep, I’m talking about “Silent Night.”  This was a song I learned in German–Stille Nacht—and could sing at least part in the native Deutsche.  It was also one of the few songs I could play on the piano.

I took lessons for years, but never practiced.  Therefore, my talent is very lacking.  However, each year, we would have a small, intimate recital for the holiday season.  My go-to song was “Greensleeves,” also known as “What Child is This.”  I played it every year and for many years after I quit taking lessons, I could still remember at least the chorus.  Turns out piano just was not my forte.  Having to move the left and right hands simultaneously was a challenge for me….and a challenge I did not take on.  I am not sure if I am at the age yet where I regret my lack of determination and diligence in this area, but I am sure one day I will wish I was more musically minded.

This is probably what I sounded like! 🙂

And now a bonus, Q….a quiz.  Don’t worry, there will be no evaluation!  But I thought it would be fun to share a little Christmas quiz to see how well you really know your Christmas carols.  I hope you enjoy!

Grateful for early morning naps, temperatures in the 60’s, and my Christmas tree.

One Response to “N, O, P, Q, R are for Noise, Objects, Packages, Quiet, and Recitals, respectively”

  1. patti December 16, 2011 at 4:18 PM #

    Lots of letters…lots of comments to add. 🙂

    N – I am so ready for this new regulation to go into effect. Can my ears last a year?

    O – When I taught I always had my students figure out the total number of gifts given in this song. Good math work for them. I think it was over 300.

    On ” Who Wants to Be a Millionaire” they just asked “how many birds were given on day 12.” It was 23. So that means it was 1 + 3 + 6 + 10 + 16 + 23 birds all together – certainly a big mess. Which just happens to go with the T-shirt I put on when I got home – 20 birds identified by their droppings. (A gift my brother gave to my mom who I don’t think ever wore it. I claimed it when we were sorting through her clothes before her move. She was happy to give it to me, but probably would have kept it if I hadn’t claimed it. You know Grandma – she doesn’t throw much of anything away. Reduce, reuse (oh yeah),(88)( recycle or give to a good cause.

    P – I always wondered that same thing about the song “My Favorite Things”. There must be something we don’t know.

    Q – I enjoyed the young girl’s concert – as I always did yours in the past.

    Made a B+ (88) on the quiz – qualifies me for an extra piece of fruitcake. I pass.

    Oh yeah – forgot to add this under O. I also shared a “nice” version of the thank you letters written by Agnes to John for all of the gifts. The last letter to him is actually from her lawyer. 😉

Leave a comment