“Welcome Back,” she told herself.

19 Feb

In many ways, I feel the title of this post epitomizes the mental space I am in now.  By no means was this blog meant to be an explicit recovery blog, but at least for a little while, I need it to be one.

Just today, my aunt Carol commented on a blog I wrote more than a month ago.

Aunt Carol (in pink) with family during Oregon Coast trip

And it hit a chord.  I had been ignoring stuff.  Sometimes friends, sometimes family, sometimes household maintenance, sometimes meal plans, sometimes grocery shopping, sometimes the truth.  They have all been ignored some time or other in the last months.

So where does that leave me?!?

Good question.

As usual, I have plans…grand plans.  Retooling tasks and trying to be more accountable.  Trying to not be fearful and to take the step forward on the unlit path knowing that the only thing worse is going back.

Now, don’t get worried.  I haven’t stepped back or fallen down, but I’m starting to get experiences those flashes of dangerous thoughts, those nagging rationalizations, and apparently weekly weekend slips.  Yep, I’m scared.  These slips just can’t keep happening and as much as I harbor fear for that unlit path, I know the monster behind me, who is ready to drag me under if I keep slipping and not getting back up, are much more threatening.  

So, back on the journey to settle into myself…whomever that may end up being and whatever she might end up looking like.  And dragging you, the reader, along with me.

To encourage myself, and perhaps share a centering moment with others, I have thought about trying a “word of the day” series for a little bit.  If I can be aware each day of the process, surely a slip won’t pull me under.

So keep an eye out…it’s coming soon.

But for today, a sneak preview.

Today’s word:  LOVE

It is what gets me through.  Knowing I am loved despite my mistakes and my many imperfections.  Knowing that someone believes in me and my chance at a bright and fulfilling future.  Knowing that I can love others and be happy.  What does it mean for you?

 

Today I am grateful for my loving aunt, a new friend, and for falling flat on my face, but being ready to walk tall again tomorrow.

3 Responses to ““Welcome Back,” she told herself.”

  1. Klh February 19, 2012 at 8:47 PM #

    Hugs to you! ❤

  2. patti February 20, 2012 at 8:47 AM #

    I look forward to being able to share your thoughts here once again. I always appreciate your straight forwardness and your humor. I can always relate to what you are saying. So thank you.

    Love … that is probably the deepest word in our language and probably the word that is understood or used in more ways than any other word. I will focus on the deepness of the word. Love, which I know and believe in the very essence of God, is something that has no boundaries. The more you love, the more you can love. The more love you share, the more you feel. Love has its roots in God – that is why we were created, that is why Jesus came, died, and rose and love always brings us closer to God. His example of true love – the total surrender and gift of his life with no conditions added is how I view love. Giving of yourself to others without any conditions or expectations. I could go on and on, but I will just add that each day of my life I am thankful for the love that is a part of it – in my family and friends, in my work and play, in the beauties of creation (can’t wait to see the ocean today!), in my every moment of existence through God’s incomprehensible spirit of love.

    • patti February 20, 2012 at 8:48 AM #

      The disciple Paul explains love well: “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, and always perseveres.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Leave a comment